Bob Dylan: ‘I am a mystical person’

Bob Dylan has said that he is a mystical person because of the influence of the land that created him.

The musician told The Times that he felt the presence of ghosts of battle when he visited Elvis Presley’s hometown of Tupelo, and speculated that the singer may have felt the same sadness.

Of his mystical nature, Dylan said: “I think it’s the land. The streams, the forests, the vast emptiness. The land created me. I’m wild and lonesome.

“Even as I travel the cities, I’m more at home in the vacant lots. But I have a love for humankind, a love of truth, and a love of justice.

He added: “I think I have a dualistic nature. I’m more of an adventurous type than a relationship type.”

Of the number of songs about love on his new album, Dylan said: “Inspiration is hard to come by. You have to take it where you find it.”

Leave a Reply

